Ayodele Fayose has emerged the gubernatorial candidate for the People’s Democratic Party, PDP in Ekiti State.

The Peter Odili-led Electoral Panel declared ex-governor Ayo Fayose the winner of PDP’s Ekiti gubernatorial primary with 462 votes out of 477 cast.

Former minister of police affairs, Caleb Olubolade scored only 7 votes, Prince Dayo Adeyeye scored 3 votes and Margeret Ogundipe scored 1 vote, with the rest of the votes being void.

Fayose was governor of Ekiti state between 2003 and 2006. On the 15th of October 2006 he was impeached by the Ekiti state house of assembly.

In 2007, Fayose found himself immersed in some legal trouble with charges of alleged murder, fraud and misappropriation of N1.2 billion of Ekiti state funds while he was governor.

Fayose is expected to be the main challenger to the incumbent governor, Kayode Fayemi, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in the June 21 governorship election.