Not less than sixteen political parties have concluded plans to field candidates that will challenge President Muhammadu Buhari at the 2019 general elections.

According to Daily Trust, the parties have confirmed their determination for a change of baton in 2019, accusing the APC of ‘gross failure in governance’.

It is now apparent that incumbent president Buhari would not have a free ride back to the Aso Rock villa as the oppositions which are being led by former President Olusegun Obasanjo are gathering up momentum in readiness to challenge the ‘change’ purveyor.

PDP, the leading opposition party in the country, reportedly has nine top contenders jostling for its presidential ticket including

Also leaders of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Democratic Peoples Congress (DPC), African Democratic Congress (ADC) and Accord Party (AP) have also confirmed their plans to contest the presidency.

Other parties showing readiness to field presidential candidates include Action Alliance, Justice Party (FJP), Young Progressives Party (YPP), Green Party (GP), Advanced Peoples Democratic Party (APDA)‎, United Progressive Party (UPP), Action Democratic Party (ADP) and Action Peoples Party (APP).