A Big Weekend At The Award Shows For A Host of Acts.

Posted on
Davido To Perform at Atlanta's One Music Fest Alongside Cardi B, Big Sean and More.

With both the MTV European Music Awards and the All Africa Music Awards, all eyes turned to see who shall emerge victorious and in some form, everyone managed to snag a win.

Davido bagged his first two MTV European Music Award for the Best African Act and Best Worldwide Act prompting emotional celebrations from Angola where he performed as part of his ongoing African tour. He came in ahead of Wizkid, South Africa’s Nasty C and Babes Wodumo, Angola’s C4 Pedro and Kenya’s Nyashinki in the Best African Act category and trumped Stormzy, Lali, Baby Metal and more on the road to the Best Worldwide Act Award.


At the AFRIMA’s Wizkid emerged a big winner with three awards for the Best African Act, Song of the Year (Come Closer Featuring Drake) and Best West African Act (Male).

YCee, Simi, Tiwa Savage, Wande Coal and DJ Coublon were some of the other winners on the night with one award apiece.

Here’s the full winner’s list.

Best Central African Act (Male) – Locko

Best Central African Act (Female) – Montess

Best East African Act (Male) – Eddy Kenzo

Best East African Act (Female) – Nandy

Best Southern Africa Act (Male) – Emtee

Best West African Act (Male) – Wizkid

Best West African Act (Female) – Tiwa Savage

Best African Collaboration – Alikiba feat M.I – “AJE”

Best Artist in African Rock – Gilad Millo (Kenya)

Best Artist or Group in African RnB & Soul – Alikiba feat. M.I – “AJE”

Best Artist or Group in African Contemporary: DJ Tunez feat. Wande Coal – “Iskaba”

Best Artist or Group in African Raggae & Dancehall – 2Baba – “Holy Holy”

Best Artist or Group in African Hip Hop – Ycee – “Juice”

Best Artist of Group in African Pop – Toofan

Video of the Year – Orezi x Adasa Cookey – “Cooking Pot”

Best Female Artist in Inspirational Music: Asikey George

African Songwriter of the Year – Simi

Producer of the Year – DJ Coublon for Seyi Shay’s “Yolo Yolo”

Artist of the Year – Wizkid

Song of the Year – Wizkid feat. Drake – “Come Closer”