Posted on

President Goodluck Jonathan has sacked the Minister of Sports, Mallam Bolaji Abdullahi.

The sack was announced just before the commencement of Wednesday’s meeting of the Executive Council of the Federation, FEC.

The former Minister, who is from Kwara state, is rumored to have lost his job due to his loyalty to Senator Bukola Saraki, who recently defected from the People’s Democratic Party, PDP to the All Progressives Congress, APC and is a critic of the Jonathan administration.

Abdullahi was Special Assistant, Communication and Strategy to the Executive Governor of Kwara State, Dr Bukola Saraki, and in 2005, he was appointed Special Adviser on Policy and Strategy to the Governor. Before being appointed Commissioner of Education, Science and Technology between 2007 and 2011, in 2011 he was appointed Minister of Youth Development before he was moved to Sports in Dec 2011.

The president also swore-in 11 new ministers and assigned them ministries.

List of new ministers below:

Musiliu Obanikoro (Lagos), Minister of State Defence

Mohammed Wakil (Borno), Minister of State Power

Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Minister of Police Affairs

Aminu Wali (Kano), Minister of Foreign Affairs

Akon Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom), Minister of Land and Housing

Lawrencia Laraba(Kaduna State), Minister of Environment

Tamuno Danagogo (Rivers), Minister of Sports

Asabe Asmau Ahmed (Niger), Minister of State Agriculture

Aliyu Gusau (Zamfara), Minister of Defence

Boni Haruna (Adamawa), Minister of Youth Development

Khaliru Alhassan (Sokoto State), Minister of State, Health

%d bloggers like this: