Burna Boy, Kizz Daniel, Tems, Other Nigerian Artistes Dominate Tingo Soundcity MVP Award 2023

Posted on

On Saturday, February 11, Soundcity held the 5th edition of its continental music award festival, the Soundcity MVP Awards Festival powered by Tingo Mobile with sponsorship from MunchIT, Pepsi and Desperados.

The event held at the Eko Convention Centre, in Lagos, Nigeria was anchored by South African actress, Pearl Thusi, and was opened with a superlative performance by Mohbad which set the tone for the night. 

Performers who captured the energy of African music in the course of the night include; Phina, Gyakie, Magixx, Pheelz, Spyro, Ruger, TI Blaze, Zuchu, Gyakie, Seyi Vibez, Ladipoe, Blackbonez, Ladipoe, Vector, Kaligraph Jones, Black Sherrif and a host of others.

According to the founder of Soundcity, Tajudeen Adepetu, the MVP Awards celebrates and showcases the finest of African music as well as artists. The initiative, he said, recognises the hard work, creativity and craft of African Musicians provides its global audience access to premium entertainment and promotes the African entertainment industry.

In celebrating the uniqueness of the African music culture, a black carpet reception preceded the award ceremony. Hosted by Eso Dike and Pearl Hart, while Latasha Ngwube and Enioluwa Adeoluwa hosted the fashion police. The reception featured interviews with the glamorous guests at the award ceremony.

Also, the sponsors of the show treated guests to a sampling of their products at the black carpet reception.

The founder of Tingo Moblie, Dozy Mmobousi, said; “At Tingo, we are at the forefront of providing solutions for African businesses. Our platform leverages the energy of the African youths to drive innovation and there is no better ally than supporting African artists and the music industry hence our partnership with the Soundcity MVP award”.

Among those who presented awards during the night were Nollywood actors and artistes from all over Africa including Daniel Etim-Effiong. RMD, Mr Macaroni, casts of Shanty made up of the trio of Chidi Mokeme, Ini Edo and Mercy Eke and a host of others.

The award ceremony had 15 categories, out of which Nigerian singers 12. It also featured special recognition for innovators in different fields including business, fintech , fashion and more.

While Senegalese singer Akon received the Legend Award, highlight of the night was the special tribute to the recently departed entertainers including South African rapper, AKA who met an untimely death on the morning of the award ceremony.



 Viewers Choice

  1. Asake – PBUY (NG)
  2. Timaya – Cold Outside Ft. BNXN (NG)
  3. Kizz Daniel & Tekno – Buga (NG)
  4. Costa Titch – Big Flexa Ft. C’buda M, Alfa Kat, Banaba Des, Sdida & Man T (Sa) 5. Kidi – Touch It (Gh) (Winner)
  5. Burna Boy – Last Last (NG)
  6. Rema – Calm Down (NG)
  7. Camidoh – Sugarcane (Remix) Ft. Mayorkun, Darkoo & King Promise (GH) 
  8. Black Sheriff – Kwaku The Traveler (GH)
  9. Ayra Starr – Rush (NG)

Listener’s Choice

  1. Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa (NG) (Winner)
  2. Kizz Daniel & Tekno – Buga (NG)
  3. Burna Boy – Last Last (NG)
  4. Ch’cco & Mellow & Sleazy – Nkao Tempela (SA)
  5. Daliwonga – Abo Mvelo Ft. Mellow & Sleazy (SA)
  6. Rema – Calm Down (NG)
  7. Mavin All Stars – Overdose (NG)
  8. Camidoh – Sugarcane (Remix) Ft. Mayorkun, Darkoo & King Promise (GH)
  9. Black Sheriff – Kwaku The Traveler (GH)
  10. Patoranking – Kolo Kolo Ft. Diamond Platnumz 

Best Group Or Duo

  1. Blaq Diamond (SA) 
  2. Show Dem Camp (NG) 
  3. Ajebo Hustlers (NG) WINNER
  4. Major League Djz (SA) 
  5. Cavemen (NG)
  6. Mellow & Sleezy (SA) 
  7. Dope Nation (GH) 
  8. Buruklyn Boyz (KE) 
  9. Yababuluku Boyz (MZ)
  10. NSG (Uk, Ghana & Nigeria)   

Best New Artiste

  1. Victony (NG) 
  2. Ayra Starr (NG) 
  3. Young Jonn (NG)
  4. Seyi Vybez (NG) 
  5. Fave (NG)
  6. Ruger (NG) Winner
  7. Black Sheriff (GH)
  8. Costa Titch (SA)
  9. Phina (TZ)
  10. Wakadinali (KE)

Best Pop

  1. Fireboy – Peru (Remix) Ft. Ed Sheeran (NG) Winner
  2. Rema – Calm Down (NG)
  3. Young Jonn- Xtra Cool (NG)
  4. Kidi – Touch It (GH)
  5. Diamond Platnumz – Mtasubiri Ft. Zuchu (TZ)
  6. Ruger – Dior (NG)
  7. Omah Lay – Woman (NG)
  8. Ayra Starr – Rush (NG)
  9. Crayon – Ijo Laba Laba (NG)
  10. Lasmid – Friday Night (GH)

Video Of The Year

  1. Rema – Calm Down – Aremu Olaiwola Qudus (Director K)
  2. Firboy X Asake – Bandana – Thankgod Omori Jesam – (TG Omori) Winner
  3. Costa Titch – Big Flexa Costa Tsobanoglou – (Costa Titch)
  4. Asake – Pbuy – Thankgod Omori Jesam – (Tg Omori)
  5. Camidoh – Sugarcane Remix – Rexford Kyei-Sarkodie (Rex)
  6. Kizz Daniel – Buga – Thankgod Omori Jesam – (Tg Omori)
  7. Zakes Bantwini X Kasango – Osama – Darion 4k
  8. Diamond Platnumz – Zuchu – Ivan Odahimbo (Ivan)
  9. Blaqbonez – Back In Uni – Emeka Akumefule & Abdulrasak Perliks (Blaqbonez & Perliks) 
  10. Omah Lay – Soso – Garth Von Glehn

Innovation and Excellence in Business Entrepreneurship

Anthony Elumelu

Best Female MVP

  1. Tems (NG) Winner
  2. Ayra Starr (NG)
  3. Gyakie (GH)
  4. Tiwa Savage (NG)
  5. Boohle (SA)
  6. Niniola (NG)
  7. Nkosazana Daughter (SA)
  8. Tyla (SA)
  9. Zuchu (TZ)
  10. Msaki (SA)

Best Male MVP

  1. Burna Boy (NG)
  2. Wizkid (NG) 
  3. Asake (NG) Winner
  4. Davido (NG)
  5. Piamond Platnumz (TN) 
  6. Focalistic (SA) 
  7. Kidi (GH)
  8. Omah Lay (NG) 
  9. Rema (NG)
  10. King Promise (GH)

African Producer of the Year

  1. Blaisebeatz (No Wahala Rmx
  2. Andre Vibez (Calm Down
  3. Magicsticks (Organise) Winner
  4. Miichkel (Finesse
  5. Niphkeyz (I’m A Mess
  6. Tempoe (Soweto)
  7. Rewardbeatz (Xtracool
  8. Chopstix (Last Last
  9. P.Prime (Woman)
  10. S2kizzy (Kwikwi)

Innovation and Excellence in Creative Arts

Kemi Adetiba

Innovation and Excellence in Fashion 

GTCO Fashion Week 

Innovation and Excellence in Fintech

Iyinoluwa Aboyeji

Olugbenga Agboola

African DJ of the Year

  1. DJ Obi (NG)
  2. DJ Tunez (NG) 
  3. DJ Big N (NG)
  4. Uncle Waffles (SA) 
  5. DJ Maphorisa (SA) 
  6. DJ Dips (NG)
  7. Black Coffee (SA) 
  8. Dj Vyrusky (GH) 
  9. DJ 4kerty (NG) 
  10. DJ Tariqo (MZ)

Song Of The Year

  1. Omah Lay – I’m A Mess (NG)
  2. Oxlade – Ku Lo Sa (NG)
  3. Wanitwa Mos, Master Kg & Lowsheen – Sofa Silahlane Ft. Nkosazana Daughter (SA) 
  4. Bien X Aaron Rimbui – Mbwembwe (KE)
  5. Burna Boy – Last Last (NG)
  6. Camidoh – Sugarcane Remix Ft. Mayorkun, King Promise & Darkoo (GH)
  7. Kizz Daniel & Tekno – Buga (NG) Winner
  8. Asake – Organise (NG)
  9. Zakes Bantwini X Kasango – Osama (SA)
  10. Mayorkun & Victony – Holy Father (NG)

Best Hip-Hop

  1. Black Sheriff – Kwaku The Traveller (GH) Winner
  2. Blaqbonez – Back In Uni (NG)
  3. M.I – The Guy (NG)
  4. Kaligraph (Og) Jones X Dax – Hiroshima
  5. Nasty C & Aka – Lemons To Lemonades (SA)
  6. Psycho Yp – Bando Diaries Ft. Odumodu Blvck (NG)
  7. Ladipoe – Running Ft. Fireboy (NG)
  8. Wakadinali – Geri Inengi Ft. Sir Bwoy (KE)
  9. Chyn – Hosanna Ft. Fxtune (NG)
  10. Vector – Clowns Ft. Ladi Poe (NG)

Innovation and Excellence in Social Entrepreneurship and Digital Influence

Fejiro Hanu Aigbodje

Best Collaboration

  1. Pheelz & BNXN – Finesse (NG)
  2. Fireboy & Ed Sheeran – Peru (Remix) (NG)
  3. Black Sherriff & Burnaboy – Second Sermon (GH)
  4. Camidoh – Sugarcane (Remix) Ft. Mayorkun & King Promise & Darkoo (GH)
  5. Costa Titch – Big Flexa Ft. C’buda M, Alfa Kat, Banaba Des, Sdida & Man T (SA) 
  6. Asake – Sungba (Remix) Ft. Burna Boy (NG)
  7. Kizz Daniel & Tekno – Buga (NG)
  8. Daliwonga – Abo Mvelo Ft. Mellow & Sleazy (SA)
  9. Mayorkun & Victony – Holy Father (NG)
  10. Mavin All Stars – Overdose (NG)

Digital Artist of the Year

  1. Ckay (NG)
  2. Wizkid (NG)
  3. Rema (NG) Winner
  4. Burna Boy (NG)
  5. Davido (NG)
  6. Diamond Platnumz (TZ)
  7. Omah Lay (NG)
  8. Ida Banton (NG) 
  9. Zuchu (TZ) 
  10. Tems (NG)

Legend Award



African Artist of the Year