Posted on

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP candidate and former governor of the state, Ayo Fayose has been announced the winner of the June 21st Ekiti gubernatorial election.

Fayose  gathered majority of votes in all Local Government Areas, defeating both his toughest opponents, the All Progressives Congress, APC candidate, Kayode Fayemi, the incumbent governor and the Labour Party candidate, Opeyemi Bamidele.

The election was free and fair despite high presence of soldiers and other security agents wielding guns in order to maintain law and order in the state.

Kayode Fayemi congratulated Fayose stating that if indeed this is the will of the people of Ekiti, he stands in deference to their will.

“It has been a hard fought election. As expected, in the course of the campaigns, there were unsavoury episodes as the candidates toured the nooks and crannies of the state to sell ourselves to the people. Electios tend to be highly divisive affairs that often see brother rising against brother. Despite our diverse party affiliations, and regardless of which way we voted on Saturday, we must remember that we are all sons and daughters of Ekiti State. Ekiti is ours to build together.



LG                    APC      LP        PDP

 Efon                3,422    358      5,335

Oye                 10,176   512     11,200

Ilejemeje     3,336      165     3,670

Ikere             7,989      585     16,197

Ikole            8,804      1,259   14,238

Ekiti S/W    6,746      1,413    11,038

Ijero            9,348       1,554    13,814

Ifelodun       6,834    3,555    13,038

Emure          4,332      1,527     7,086

Ekiti-East     8,584      884       12,498

Moba             7,994      1,000    8,878

Gbonyin         8,138     714        11,046

Ise                    5,809     600      10,136

Ekiti-West     7,860    884         10,702

Ido-Osi           7,134     1,182     13,045

Ado-Ekiti     13,927    2,065    41,169


%d bloggers like this: