Saraki loses, Dogara retains seat

Posted on

Senate President Bukola Saraki has lost his re-election bid to the upper legislative chamber as Ibrahim Oloriegbe of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winner.

He lost in all of the local governments in his Kwara Central Senatorial District in Saturday’s National Assembly elections.

The Returning Officer, Professor Olawale Olatunbosun, announced this on Sunday shortly after collating the results of the election in the zone.

According to him, Oloriegbe polled a total of 123,808 votes to defeat Senator Saraki of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 68,994 votes.

A breakdown of the results of the elections conducted revealed that the Senator-elect defeated the Senate President in all four local government areas across the Kwara Central senatorial district.

They are – Asa, Ilorin South, Ilorin West, and Ilorin East LGAs.

However, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, in Bauchi State won his own reelection bid.

The lawmaker defeated his closest rival and APC candidate, Dalhatu Kantana who scored 50,078 votes.