The Top 10 Nigerian Record Label Posse Cuts

Posted on


Naomi Overo, Thelma Ideozu, and Adaora Nwangwu 

Posse cuts is a format that never fails to excite music heads. Rooted in hip-hop’s competitive nature, this tradition sends artists on an unspoken quest to emerge as the “winner” with the standout verse on a collaborative project as everyone tries to outdo one another with their bars.

Over the years, the Nigerian music industry has produced some legendary collaborative songs that have become timeless anthems. From Booty Call by Mo’hits, Chocolate City/Choc Boiz’s Nobody to Davido Music Worldwide’s Mind and Overloading (Overdose) by Mavins 2.0, here are 10 posse cuts from Nigeria’s music industry: 

Overloading (Overdose) 

Record Label: Mavins 2.0

Year: 2022

In honor of Mavin Record’s 10-year anniversary, Don Jazzy put out a new posse cut titled Overdose featuring three of the label’s latest additions — Ayra Starr, Magixx, Boy Spyce, and two more seasoned signees; Crayon and Ladipoe. Starting with the famous It’s Don Jazzy again opener, each artist holds up their own as they show their unique skills on the catchy beat. Crayon kicks off the track with a compelling verse and hook. Ayra Starr, Ladipoe, and Magixx execute their cool verses while Boy Spyce finishes off with his pillowy vocals. Overloading (Overdose) gives fans a preview of what to expect from the collaborative project the record label is said to be releasing soon.


Record Label: Davido Music Worldwide (DMW)

Year: 2018

Davido released a posse cut with members of the label; Dremo, Mayorkun, and Peruzzi on the 31st of January 2018. Introducing the latest signee — Peruzzi, Mind showcased each artist’s star potential over the piano-led beat with crashing synths, electronic guitar riffs and upbeat drums. The accompany visuals quickly racked in the numbers and helped make the posse cut a 2018 hit single. Most of the label mates were already enjoying some success before the collaborative song with some Headies nominations and wins but Mind helped give DMW squad an edge over the competition.


Record Label:  Mavins 1.0

Year: 2014

After the dissolution of the pioneering group, Mohit stars, Don Jazzy started Mavins records in 2012. Two years later, the record label released its first posse cut featuring Reekado Banks, Tiwa Savage, Dr Sid, Korede Bello, Di’ja and D’Prince. Produced by Don Jazzy, the song boasts about the record label being the best with the artists showering themselves with accolades and praises. The song served as the label’s official introduction to the fans. Dorobucci quickly went viral across the continent. People created tee shirts with ‘Dorobucci’ imprinted on them and the term was incorporated into daily slang. Several years later, it remains a fan favourite.

Our Lord Jesus

Record Label: YBNL All Stars

Year: 2014

Released in 2014, Our Lord Jesus was one of the hottest collaborations to grace the Nigerian music scene. Produced by Pheelz, the YBNL All Stars hit sampled Madame Agnes Iro’s Follow The Ladder To Heaven and was headed by Olamide. It featured YBNL signees, Lil Kesh and Viktoh, with Olamide delivering the soulful chorus that accompanied the fire bars dropped by Lil Kesh, Viktoh and himself.

Baddest Boy

Record Label – EME All Stars

Year: 2012

When Baddest Boy dropped in 2012, it automatically clinched the hottest song of the season position. Despite the leaked version surfacing on the internet before its official release, Baddest Boy still made waves and was nominated for Best Collabo at the 2013 Headies Awards. Produced by Lengendury Beatz, Baddest Boy was brought to life by Skales, Wizkid and Banky W, with the latter two credited as songwriters on the lead single from the Empire Mates State Of Mind album.

Chop My Money Ft MayD Remix

Record Label: Square Records

Year: 2011

Following the release of their fifth album titled The Invasion in 2011, twin brothers, Peter and Paul Okoye (P Square) tapped Akon for what quickly became one of the most popular songs on the continent. The remix happened shortly after the two signed a record deal with Akon’s Konvict Muzik label in 2011. The hit song went on every DJ’s tracklist and the music video played regularly across music channels. Even today, the catchy phrase chop my money never gets old. It’s safe to say that this one remains a certified classic.

Booty Call

Record Label: Mo’Hits

Year: 2011

Easily one of the hottest tracks of its time, Nigerian music group Mo’ Hits All Stars dropped Booty Call back in the early 2000’s. The hit song was the fourteenth track on the group’s 2007 compilation album, Curriculum Vitae. Produced by Don Jazzy, the song quickly made waves across the country, featuring vocals from D’banj, Dr Sid, D’Prince, K-Switch and of course, Wande Coal — whose vocal talents became increasingly clear and popular after the release of the jam.

Nobody Test Me 

Record Label: Chocolate City/Choc Boiz

Year: 2010

It’s not news that Chocolate City artists M.I Abaga, Jesse Jagz and Ice Prince have had a huge impact on the evolution of Nigerian Hip-Hop and so it’s not much of a surprise that a song featuring all three of them would make waves the way Nobody Test Me did. Accompanied by an ultra-cool black and white video, the song was released in 2010 with each rapper dropping a saucy verse, addressing their ‘rivals’ directly. The hip hop heads loved this one and even today, it’s easy to see why. It’s impossible to talk about fire Nigerian posse cuts without this song.


Record Label: Chocolate City

Year: 2010

In 2010, rapper M.I in collaboration with Choc City artists released Represent, one of the tracks from his second studio album The Movie (MI 2). The song featured Chocolate City stars Jesse Jagz, Brymo and Ice Prince and was famous for its ”we haven’t heard any Choc boys song o, Ah-ah, no, it can be over o” intro. Represent, the 15th track on M.I’s second studio album MI 2: The Movie saw the artists come together to showcase their versatility and musical chemistry which was well received by Hip-hop fans.

Made In Lagos

Record Label: Storm Records

Year: 2000s

Way before Wizkid’s Made In Lagos album (2020), there was the original hit song released by Storm Records. Released in the early 2000s, Made In Lagos featured Naeto C and the Storm All-Stars. The track came as an interesting mix of rap, vocals and that signature Afro-feel that Storm Records was so known for. As one of the first record labels in Nigeria, Storm 360 Records brought forth major Nigerian artists like Darey Art-Alade, Ikechukwu, Naeto C, Yung6, and Sasha P.