Laycon’s Debut Album ‘….Shall We Begin…’ Is A Prelude To His Musical Breakthrough

Posted on

In a single sentence, Laycon describes his art form as a creative process driven by versatility. It’s this process that got him noticed a couple of years ago and has since served as a pedestal for him to stand tall in the industry, coupled with his life as a reality TV star. To encapsulate the work he’s put into familiarising the world with his music, he shares his debut album, ….Shall we begin… today.

A follow up to his April 2020 EP, Who Is Laycon, which garnered millions of streams across all streaming platforms, ….Shall we begin… boasts of a stellar tracklist featuring hitmakers Mayorkun, Joeboy, Teni, and YKB. Laycon shows off his versatility by rapping and singing on twelve relatively engaging tracks that are likely to become soundtracks of the summer.

The twelve tracks open up with the tone-setting intro, …And so She Spoke…, then moves into an attempted embodiment of lust on God body, braggadocious verses on Verified, relationship commentary on All Over Me, then the laxness of the earlier released Fall For Me. Laycon dedicates his attention to love on Kele, stellar focus to his lyricism on Jeje, while he relays relaying his experience as a “sexual enthusiast” on Bam Bam. He gets philosophical in the end, on Want You Back, he gives room for multiple perspectives, while on My Lane, he delivers a tribute to his grind before closing out with the lyrically somber …And so They Spoke…

….Shall we begin… is a fiery collection of eclectic sounds with stories spanning moods and experiences, defining Laycon’s persona in the same vein.

%d bloggers like this: