Posted on

Two Nigerian designers, Amaka Osakwe (Maki Oh) and Adebayo Oke Lawal (Orange Culture) have been placed on a short list of 30 for the LVMH Young Fashion Designer award. The list would be cut down to 10 finalists in May.

The award is open to all designers aged below 40 who have created at least two ready to wear men’s or women’s collections.

The final winner would get a grant of €300,000 and personalized assistance from LVMH for the following 12 month period.

The jury of the award is effectively made up of the biggest designers in the world. It features Marc Jacobs (Marc Jacobs), Karl Lagerfeld (Fendi), Phoebe Philo (Céline), Humberto Leon and Carol Lim (Kenzo), Raf Simons (Dior), Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy) and Nicolas Ghesquière (Louis Vuitton). The jury is completed by Delphine Arnault, the Executive Vice President of Louis Vuitton and Jean-Paul Claverie, an advisor to Bernard Arnault ( Chairman of the LVMH) group.

We wish them the best of luck.

Find the rest of the short list here


Adebayo Oke Lawal and Carine Roitfeld
Carine Roitfeld and Maki Oh
Kanye West and Oke Lawal, in the middle.
Publicist, Tokini Peterside, Maki Oh and Kanye West
Maki Oh and Karl Lagerfeld




%d bloggers like this: